The History of H. E. Williams, Inc.
H. E. Williams, Inc. was started in 1921 by Harold E. Williams in Carthage, Missouri. At that time, the company was known as H. E. Williams Products and consisted of Mr. Williams and one helper and was located in a rented room 25 by 50 feet in size. The company has since moved three times, each facility being located in Carthage.
For the first few years, the company produced various items such as kitchen utensils, static signs, cold storage lockers and even bicycle parts. The story goes that H. E. would finish operations for the day and then would go door to door selling the company's wares.
By the mid-twenties, the company had settled into making various gadgets for automobiles such as folding luggage racks which would mount to running boards, canopies for rumble seats, radiator bug screens, underslung creepers and seat cushions.
Mr. Williams acquired many different patents for his ideas, both for products and their manufacture. By the late 1930's items such as gas and radiator caps, sun visors and antennae were being produced, all under Williams' patents.
The 1939 World's Fair introduced as a new technology, fluorescent lighting. H. E. attended the fair and immediately set his mind to creating and manufacturing fixtures to house the new light source. By December of 1939 he was ordering machinery to manufacture lamp brackets.
For over 60 years, Williams fluorescent fixtures have been sold around the country for schools, offices, hospitals, retail establishments, warehouses and industrial applications. For over 60 years, those fixtures have been produced to the exacting standards of the Williams family; the same quality and performance as dictated by H. E. himself.
A Visible Difference® From superior product performance to unmatched personal service, we invite you to discover the visible difference H.E. Williams, Inc. can make.